Training for faith leaders

A significant new free training course for faith leaders, which FaithAction was involved in shaping, is being rolled out around the country. The Faith Leaders Training Initiative is provided by the Edward Cadbury Centre for the Public Understanding of Religion and funded by the Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government.

The programme aims to equip faith leaders to address the practical challenges of practising faith in the UK, addressing questions such as: How do we lead our organisations effectively? How can we identify, confront and prevent abuse of all kinds from occurring in our communities? What does British law say about marriage and divorce, equalities and hate crime?

The programme comprises two to four training days at cricketing venues in Manchester, Birmingham, Leeds and London. The programme is suitable for anyone with leadership responsibilities in a faith community, from any faith tradition.

Sessions run from 9.30 to 4.00pm with all refreshments provided.
Manchester (at Emirates Old Trafford Cricket Stadium)

  • Module 2: Family Life and Family Law – Thursday 26 September
  • Module 3: Religion in Society – Thursday 24 October
  • Module 4: Faith and Social Challenges – Thursday 14 November

Birmingham (at Edgbaston Stadium)

  • Module 3: Religion in Society – Thursday 10 October
  • Module 4: Faith and Social Challenges – Thursday 7 November

London (at The Kia Oval)

  • Module 3: Religion in Society – Thursday 19 September
  • Module 4: Faith and Social Challenges – Thursday 31 October

Leeds (at Headingley Stadium)

  • Module 1: Leading Faith-Based Organisations – Thursday 12 September
  • Module 2: Family Life and Family Law – Thursday 17 October
  • Module 3: Religion in Society – Thursday 14 November
  • Module 4: Faith and Social Challenges – Thursday 4 December

Find out more and book: www.birmingham.ac.uk/

For more information email flti@contacts.bham.ac.uk